Ruínas do Convento do Carmo
Construction works of this, once magnificent church, dedicated to Our Lady of Mount Carmel, were initiated in 1389. The present Carmo Archaeological Museum was established in the ruins of the former Church of Carmo in 1864, as the first Portuguese museum of art and archaeology. The fact that it was one of the few gothic monuments that survived the 1755 earthquake, and its aspect of Romantic ruin, make it especially attractive providing an unique scenario for the organisation of special events. Using a transparent canopy it houses events all year, but is of course especially pleasant during the warmer months.